top of page

Mission Central: February 2020

The monthly newsletter for members of Angel Flight South Central

Angel Flight Log


Angel Flight South Central’s inaugural Mission Possible: Soaring Hearts Gala is in the books! We are so grateful to our sponsors, volunteers, and wonderful attendees. We would like to thank Keynote Speaker Dr. Peggy A. Whitson, Special Guest Everson Walls, Emcee Lyndy Phillips, Honorary Chair Jimmy Westcott, and Special Performer Darryl Purpose.

[Keynote Speaker Dr. Peggy A. Whitson]

At the gala, we announced this year’s award winners, and we want to take a minute to share those with you again.

Ray Bailey and Lone Star Communications were honored with the Silver Wings Award. This award recognizes an individual or company that demonstrates exceptional generosity through direct charitable giving to AFSC. The person or company is a philanthropic leader in our community, encouraging others towards charitable support or volunteer opportunities.

Ray Bailey generously donated a matching gift through his company, Lone Star Communications, in support of North Texas Giving Day. The philanthropic leadership of Ray and Lone Star Communications in 2019 enabled Angel Flight to raise over $64,000 in a single day. Ray is also a volunteer pilot and has flown over 200 missions since joining AFSC in 2004.